logo Headerpop
Digital Trends

Clubhouse, the latest rising star in social networking

Launched in March 2020 by two Californians used to the Silicone Valley, Clubhouse has experienced a major boom since the health crisis. Between social distancing and teleworking, this network allows to keep a contact with the outside world. We explain everything in this article!

A social network like no other

So… What is a clubhouse? Just imagine a large building with several floors, in which there are long corridors with a multitude of doors on both sides. Behind these doors, imagine conversation rooms in which up to 5,000 participants can meet… Now you have an idea? Difficult to visualize, we understand. But don’t panic, we’ll explain everything in the rest of this article!

No video, no image or text… Just the voice…

On Clubhouse, users take part in live group conferences without video. These groups are more commonly known as “rooms” and, as mentioned above, can accommodate up to 5,000 people at a time.

During these rooms, each person is invited to interact if they wish. The concept will probably please the most extroverted among you… But as Khani, an entrepreneur better known under the nickname Madebykhani, told us, “you really have to dare to speak… it took me a week to speak and even today, I listen more than I speak”!

So if you are part of the “listening is good, talking is too much to ask” team, no stress: just turn off your microphone, start the conference and listen!

Clubhouse, the new digital phenomenon

How do I get into a room?

And here’s another matter … Indeed, on Clubhouse, it is not enough to create a profile and add friends in order to enjoy the platform.

The main feature of the social network is the way to access it. The first condition to participate in the rooms is to have an iPhone, as the application works only on iOS.

The second is the fact of being invited. The founders played on the expectation of the invitation and the feeling of privilege when accessing a room. Thus, the user has the impression of being on a very selective social network in which his opinions are reserved for a certain number of people.

Moreover, Khani told us that it was possible to land in a room and chat with Gad Elmaleh or Marc Levy, prestigious isn’t it?

On Clubhouse, various topics of discussion

Whether you are looking for business advice, relaxation or new encounters, you will find what you are looking for.

Alexia Gagnon, Strategic Marketing Manager at Acceo Solutions in Quebec City, explained that she first came to Clubhouse through her work. She listened to discussions related to marketing and digital trends. Then, she confessed that she was interested in more personal topics: wellness, world affairs, photography, etc. Indeed, Clubhouse has something for everyone!

What you’ll like about Clubhouse is the diversity of content. But it’s also the opportunity to meet experts, debate with them and receive answers directly from them. For example, Clubhouse has allowed Khani to discover inspiring profiles that are completely different from those she is used to following.

In terms of content, to sum up, Alexia and Khani were first attracted by professional topics and then got caught up in the game! If Khani claims to have become addicted at some point, she still underlines being wary about the future of the platform: “I can’t wait to see how the dynamics will evolve when the app will be accessible to everyone: there will be fake news, people who will declare themselves experts and who are not…”.

Why should brands use Clubhouse?

According to the Headerpop digital team, lifestyle brands and travel destinations have a lot to gain from speaking out on Clubhouse.

  • Strong links, more intimate relationships between brands, employees and customers tend to be created through discussion. That’s what it’s all about. The immediacy, closeness and authenticity of the discussions make this network a new opportunity for companies in the tourism and lifestyle sector: to create a real and lasting relationship with their customers. But that’s not all.
  • The customer relationship is also becoming stronger and more personal. As a brand, advice on a next stay or on certain products can be given to each individual and various questions can be raised live. What better way to extend the experience and strengthen customer loyalty?
  • Clubhouse is also a storytelling platform in the making. By communicating the history of the company, the territory, or by sharing anecdotes about the creation of certain products, participants will feel more involved and closer to your brand. Clubhouse is therefore a new tool to seduce and maintain your brand image.

For example, by launching a room, a hotel will be able to communicate on its ability to stand out, on the management of its establishment and its relations with customers, but also on the destination.

It is about enriching your communication and creating a real lifestyle atmosphere. As Alexia points out, “By using Clubhouse, brands gain credibility by positioning themselves and initiating conversations on topics in which they are identified as experts.

In brief :

  • With such a strong following around the world, Clubhouse is a rapidly growing platform and will surely become a must-have social network in the coming months;
  • This social network is entertaining and allows proximity with qualified people;
  • Mainly linked to the professional world, the arrival of a new public on the network promises to broaden the topics of conversation towards new themes.

The Headerpop team sees Clubhouse as an opportunity to be seized. By embracing the codes of our new way of life and enhancing the already popular audio communication, this social network has got it right. And even if opinions sometimes seem to differ, one thing is certain: we’re keeping a close eye on Clubhouse and its possibilities.

Communicating
your lifestyles

Headerpop observes new uses from here and elsewhere to propose a trendy, spontaneous and engaging lifestyle communication. The idea? To define a brand according to its character, enhance its universe and enrich its seductive power with details that make the difference and inspire the public.

Do you want to enrich your brand by illustrating its lifestyle or to promote a more conscious and responsible approach? Get comfy, we take care of everything!

Meet the team

We remain friends?

logo Headerpop
Tendances Digitales

Clubhouse, la dernière étoile montante des réseaux sociaux

Lancé en mars 2020 par deux californiens habitués de la Silicone Valley, Clubhouse connaît un important essor depuis la crise sanitaire. Entre distanciation sociale et télétravail, ce réseau permet de garder un contact avec le monde extérieur. On vous explique tout dans cet article!

Un réseau social pas comme les autres

Alors… Clubhouse, c’est quoi ? Il vous suffit de vous imaginer un grand bâtiment de plusieurs étages, au sein desquels se trouvent de longs couloirs comportant de part et d’autre une multitude de portes. Derrière ces portes, imaginez des salles de conversations dans desquelles peuvent se retrouver jusqu’à 5000 participants… Ça y est, vous vous faites une idée? Difficile à visualiser, on le conçoit. Mais pas de panique, on vous explique tout dans la suite de cet article!

Pas de vidéo, aucune image ni de texte… Juste la voix…

En effet, sur Clubhouse, les utilisateurs prennent part à des conférences de groupe en live mais sans vidéo. Ces groupes sont plus communément appelés des “rooms” et, comme dit plus haut, peuvent accueillir jusqu’à 5000 personnes en même temps.

Durant ces rooms, chaque personne est invitée à interagir si elle le souhaite. Le concept plaira sans doute aux plus extravertis d’entre vous… Mais comme nous l’a confié Khani, entrepreneuse plus connue sous le pseudo Madebykhani, “il faut vraiment oser se lancer pour parler… ça m’a mis une semaine avant de prendre la parole et encore aujourd’hui, j’écoute plus que je ne parle”!

Alors si vous faites partie de la team “écouter c’est bien, parler c’est trop me demander”, no stress: il suffit de couper votre micro, de lancer la conférence et d’écouter!

Clubhouse, le nouveau phénomène du digital

Comment intégrer une room?

En voilà une autre paire de manches… Effectivement, sur Clubhouse, il ne suffit pas de se créer un profil et d’ajouter des amis afin de pouvoir profiter de la plateforme.

La caractéristique principale du réseau social, c’est la façon d’y accéder. La condition première à la participation aux rooms, c’est d’avoir un iPhone, en effet l’application ne fonctionne que sur iOS.

La seconde, c’est le fait d’y être invité. Les fondateurs ont joué sur l’attente de l’invitation et le sentiment de privilège lors de l’accès à une room. Ainsi, l’utilisateur a l’impression d’être sur un réseau social très sélectif au sein duquel ses opinions sont réservées à un certain nombre de personnes.

D’ailleurs, Khani nous a affirmé qu’il était tout à fait possible d’atterrir dans une room et de discuter en compagnie de Gad Elmaleh ou encore de Marc Lévy, prestigieux n’est-ce pas?

Sur Clubhouse, des sujets de discussion variés

Que vous soyez à la recherche de conseils pour votre business, de détente ou encore de nouvelles rencontres, vous y trouverez votre bonheur.

Alexia Gagnon, responsable en marketing stratégique chez Acceo Solutions à Québec, nous a expliqué s’être d’abord rendue sur Clubhouse par le biais de son travail. Elle a donc écouté des discussions liées au marketing et aux tendances digitales. Ensuite, elle nous a avoué s’être intéressée à des sujets plus personnels : bien-être, affaires mondiales, photographie, … En effet, sur Clubhouse, il y en a pour tous les goûts!

Ce qui plaît sur Clubhouse, c’est donc la diversité de contenus. Mais c’est aussi la possibilité de rencontrer des experts, de débattre avec eux et de recevoir des réponses directement de leur part. Par exemple, Clubhouse a permis à Khani de découvrir des profils inspirants et complètement différents de ceux qu’elle a l’habitude de suivre. 

Au niveau du contenu, pour résumer, Alexia et Khani ont donc tout d’abord été attirées par des sujets professionnels et se sont ensuite laissées prendre au jeu! Si Khani affirme être devenue accro à un moment donné, elle souligne quand même être méfiante quant à l’avenir de la plateforme : “J’ai hâte de voir comment la dynamique va évoluer lorsque l’app sera accessible à tout le monde: il y aura d’office des fake news, des personnes qui vont se déclarer experts et qui ne le sont pas…”.

Quel intérêt pour les marques d’utiliser Clubhouse ?

Selon la team digitale Headerpop, les marques lifestyle et destinations touristiques ont tout intérêt à prendre la parole sur Clubhouse.

  • Des liens forts et plus intimistes entre marques, salariés et clients tendent à se créer grâce aux discussions. C’est là tout l’enjeu. L’instantanéité, la proximité et l’authenticité des propos font de ce réseau une nouvelle opportunité pour les entreprises du secteur touristique et lifestyle: créer une réelle relation durable avec leurs clients. Mais ce n’est pas tout. 
  • La relation-client se renforce et se personnalise également davantage. En tant que marque, des conseils sur un prochain séjour ou sur certains produits peuvent être apportés à chacun et les diverses interrogations peuvent être soulevées en live. Quoi de mieux pour prolonger l’expérience et renforcer la fidélisation client? 
  • Clubhouse est également une plateforme de storytelling en devenir. En communiquant sur l’histoire de l’entreprise, du territoire, ou encore en partageant des anecdotes sur la création de certains produits, les participants se sentiront plus impliqués et plus proches de votre marque. Clubhouse est donc un nouvel outil pour séduire et entretenir votre image de marque.

A titre d’exemple, en lançant une room, un établissement hôtelier pourra communiquer sur sur ses capacités à se démarquer, sur la gestion de son établissement et de ses relations avec les clients, mais aussi sur la destination.

Il s’agit d’enrichir votre communication et de créer une véritable ambiance lifestyle. C’est également ce que souligne Alexia : “En utilisant Clubhouse, les marques gagnent en crédibilité en se positionnant et en amorçant des conversations sur des sujets auxquels elles sont identifiées comme expertes”.

En bref:

  • Face à un tel engouement à travers le monde, Clubhouse est une plateforme en pleine expansion et s’imposera sûrement dans le paysage des réseaux sociaux indispensables dans les prochains mois ;
  • Ce réseau social est divertissant et permet une proximité avec des personnes qualifiées;
  • Principalement lié au monde professionnel, l’arrivée d’un nouveau public sur le réseau promet d’élargir les sujets de conversation vers de nouvelles thématiques. 

Ainsi, l’équipe Headerpop voit en Clubhouse une opportunité à saisir. En adoptant les codes de notre nouvelle façon de vivre et en valorisant la communication audio déjà très en vogue, ce réseau social a tout compris. Et même si les avis semblent parfois diverger, une chose est sûre: nous gardons un œil attentif sur Clubhouse et ses possibilités.

Communiquer
sur vos styles de vie

Headerpop observe les nouveaux usages d’ici et d’ailleurs pour proposer une communication lifestyle tendance, spontanée et attachante. L’idée? Définir une marque selon son caractère et valoriser son univers avec les détails qui font la différence et inspirent le public.

Vous souhaitez communiquer sur votre marque en illustrant son style de vie dans une approche plus consciente et responsable ? Get comfy, on s'occupe de tout!

Voir l'équipe
l'agence Headerpop

On reste amis?